13.1? Sure, Why Not?

So, I know it’s been a while since I posted, and I apologize to all of you who follow me regularly. I’ve been busy with life and not running as much as I would like. However, the past week has gone as follows:
Saturday 10/15- 8 miles with some girlfriends at a pace about 1:30 slower than my usual. It felt great to just run and talk and catch up.
Monday 10/17- 4.5 miles in which I had to hurry at the end so I didn’t get rained on.
Tuesday 10/18- 5 mile walk with my Mama. We even stopped for a pastry…Can’t beat that!
Thursday 10/20- Played basketball with some friends from high school in a Parks & Rec league. I counted this as my run for the day.
Sunday 10/23- 13.1 miles totally on a whim with my friend John. Keep reading to see how this happened.
Today- Rest Day!

So the 13.1 on Sunday was totally impromptu. Here’s how the conversation went:
(Appx mile 4) John: “How far do you want to go today?”
Me: “I was thinking of going up the hill, then back.”
John: “Want to go crazy and go all the way around the point?”
Me: “Let’s see how we feel at the top of the hill.”

(Top of Hill) John: “Want to keep going?”
Me: “Sure, I’m feeling good and it’s nice out. Why not?”

(Appx mile 9) Me: “You know, when we get back to the cars we’ll be at 12.5 miles. I think I’m just gonna make it a half marathon. It’s only another 1/2 mile. That’s nothing.”
John: “Yeah, sure. I’ll do it.”

And that’s how you end up running a 1/2 marathon completely out of the blue! But I’m surprisingly not too sore today, and I felt great yesterday after the run. I should run really far more often!

One thought on “13.1? Sure, Why Not?

  1. Hey Hi:

    Great to hear from you. I really think you should go on more “on a Whim” with
    John. Wow, you are really doing great honey so just keep it up. I’m still only
    at 2 miles each day and thats going pretty good so far. Just not ready to up it
    at this time. Time will tell so I just keep going at this pace for now.

    I’m so jealous of all of you going to Vegas. I know KK will be just over whelmed
    experience it. Be sure and send some pictures and have a “few” Margarita’s
    for me. Keep up the good work and hope to talk to you soon. Take care.
    LVU

Leave a Reply

