Marathon?…..Check!

I did it!! I can now officially call myself a marathon runner. It was an awesome experience and I’m so glad I did it, even though it proved quite painful. Here is a breakdown of the race:

John and I started together and he stayed with me in the crowd for about a block before he took off at “rocket speed.” My awesome cheerleader parents were hanging out around mile 12/14 with some Gatorade and water, which was perfect! It is so motivating to have someone cheering you on. I felt really great up to about mile 15-16 when it dawned on me how far I had already run and how far I had to go. Ugh! Those miles were tough on the mind. Then at about mile 17/18 I saw my fabulous friends (and bosses) with their family on their bikes. They rode along with me for about a mile and were super encouraging and totally took my mind off running. Thanks guys!! My parents were at mile 18 with more refreshments, yay! From that point on, I was on my own. The last 8 miles proved to be the toughest! I had to walk quite a bit because of some sharp knee pain. During the last 3 miles I was really pissed off that I couldn’t run as much as I wanted because of my knee. Otherwise I was feeling good and would have run that out. I did, however finish the last 1/2 mile at a run and made it to the finish line! Wow! That was such a delicious feeling of pain, excitement, relief and pride that I wish I could bottle it up and sell it. I’d be a ga-jillionaire for sure!

Here are some of the pics:

John and I before the race

Still feeling good at mile 14-ish

Crossing the finish line....finally!

John and I still smiling, post-race. We must be delirious from the pain.

Leave a Reply

