Slow and Steady

It was slow and sluggish, but I did it, 8 miles! I think I ate too big of a breakfast, or maybe drank too much water right before running because I was having side-ache/cramp issues in the first couple miles. Even stopped to walk a bit and stretch it out. I loosened up at about mile 3 and was feeling pretty good up to the last couple miles. I am going to cut myself some slack, though, because the last 2 miles are all uphill, but… I was still slower than usual.

Earlier this week, on Tuesday, I ran 3 miles and did some sit-ups and push-ups. It’s amazing how sore you can get from 10 push-ups when you never do them! Ugh! But I know it is time for me to add a little something extra to my running. I have decided to start weight lifting. I used to lift all the time in high school and college, but have been a slacker as of late.

Knowing myself, and the fact that, if left to my own devices, I will be a huge slacker at lifting, I’m going to start taking a class at my gym. I have taken the class before, it’s called Body Pump, and I really like it. The downfall is that the only time I can go is at 6am! I am a morning person, but even that is early for me. My idea is to con a friend into going with me so I have to answer to someone if I don’t show up. The power of friends is strong….but it’s for a good cause and healthy reason, so this is a good form of peer pressure.

Overall, it’s been a good training week. Though I was slow and didn’t feel great about my run today, I sometimes have to remind myself that even a lethargic, slow-moving run is better than sitting on the couch!

Leave a Reply

